The appearance of Leez priory today is radically different to what its appearance would have been in 1594. Previously a large monastic castle built by the Augustinian monks lay directly to its East this was in disrepair and Rich made this ruin pay for itself by starting to demolish it and sell the stone as building material . He did exactly the same thing with nearby Hadleigh Castle. By 1735 all traces of the monastic ruin had dissapeared. The original castle would have resembled St Osyth's Abbey which dates to the same era and is pictured here. The Augustinian monks ( or the shepherds of souls as they were known ) built these castles.
The poem states that Avisa's house is nestled between a lake to its west and an ancient castle to its East. That is exactly correct for Leez Priory.